SS0012: Steve Jansen, Slope

Presenting Steve Jansen's new album, Slope. Tension underlies the crisp rhythms and intricate programming, while a collection of distinctive vocalists draw out the sentiment in his songwriting. As Jansen explains, "with this album I approached composition attempting to avoid chord and song structures and the usual familiar building blocks. instead I wanted to piece together unrelated sounds, music samples, rhythms and 'events' in an attempt to deviate from my own trappings as a musician."

The album features guest contributions from Tim Elsenburg, Thomas Feiner, Anja Garbarek, Nina Kinert, David Sylvian, Theo Travis and Joan Wasser (Joan As Policewoman). Presented as ever in a beautiful digipak with design by Chris Bigg.

read the reviews

Tracklisting / MP3 Samples

1: Grip

2: Sleepyard, featuring Tim Elsenburg

3: Cancelled Pieces, featuring Anja Garbarek

4: December Train

5: Sow The Salt, featuring Thomas Feiner

6: Gap Of Cloud

7: Playground Martyrs, featuring David Sylvian

8: A Way Of Disappearing

9: Ballad Of A Deadman, featuring Joan Wasser and David Sylvian

10: Conversation Over

11: Life Moves On

12: Playground Martyrs (Reprise), featuring Nina Kinert

For further information on Slope, please visit the album microsite:

« back