Toshimaru Nakamura - Egrets

Samadhisound # sound cd ss017 [CD]

Pre-order: to be released on 25.05.10. Please note that your order will be charged at time of purchase, but the entire order will not ship until the release date of the 24th of May.

1. Nimb Number 42
2. Semi
3. Tane
4. Nimb Number 43
5. Heater/Refrigerator
6. Nimb Number 44
7. Yura
8. Nimb Number 45

To fans of free improvisation and the Japanese onkyo, or noise scene, Toshimaru Nakamura needs no introduction; to newcomers, the name of his instrument – the no-input mixing board – may sound forbidding, or mechanistic. But for over a decade, Nakamura has cultivated a world of tones from this unlikely instrument, making music both harsh and mesmerizing, humanist and expansive – with something to lure in music fans of any stripe.

“Egrets has Toshi's signature minimalist stamp but sonically there's a lot more variation to this work,” says founder of samadhisound David Sylvian. “I have great admiration for Toshi, for his sense of discipline, his risk taking, his openness, generosity and intelligence.”

Two guests join Nakamura on this release. “Semi” is a duo with guitarist Tetuzi Akiyama, who has collaborated with Nakamura for over a decade. “Since we started to play together, we have been functioning as a unit to host guests to form a trio or quartet, sometimes larger. I think that has given a character to our duo. Observing ourselves, it seems like we don't play‘ on’ each other so much. Instead, we reserve some room for other musicians and listeners.” Their duet is spacious, but complete; Akiyama’s ringing acoustic guitar leaves wide spaces where Nakamura chatters and fizzes, quiet but busy like a bird circling a behemoth.

By contrast, this was the first time Nakamura had worked with Arve Henriksen, the in-demand trumpeter and co-founder of the acclaimed electro-acoustic group Supersilent. They met at a 2009 session in London, which was organized by David Sylvian during the recording of his audio installation, When We Return You Won’t Recognize Us. Henriksen recorded duo and solo performances for this project, which Nakamura pared down to breath sounds and instrument noises: we hear every exhalation and every click of the valves on “Heater/Refrigerator, ”while on “Tane” the two banter vigorously, bubbling ideas from the guts of one instrument to the other.

« back

Buy this item



Toshimaru Nakamura - Egrets

Click packshot to enlarge

Customers who bought this product also purchased

Featured Products