Nine Horses "Snow Borne Sorrow"

2005, sound cd ss006

1: Wonderful World
2: Darkest Birds
3: The Banality Of Evil
4: Atom And Cell
5: A History Of Holes
6: Snow Borne Sorrow
7: The Day The Earth Stole Heaven
8: Serotonin
9: The Librarian

Working under the group name of 'Nine Horses' 'Snow Borne Sorrow' is a collaboration between David Sylvian, his brother and frequent collaborator Steve Jansen and electronic composer / remixer Burnt Friedman.

Lyrically and vocally, 'Snow Borne Sorrow' continues the maturing darkness of Sylvian's last solo release 'Blemish' - songs of struggle, doubt and resolve, Bergman-like glimpses of the realities and difficulties of intimate relationship, flashes of light and humility and, continuing his engagement with the political situation in post- 9/11 America, begun on his 2004 single with Ryuichi Sakamoto, World Citizen, caustic words about the excuses our leaders manage to find not to 'love thy neighbor'.

'Snow Borne Sorrow' was made with a cast of contributors, including Norwegian trumpeter and Supersilent member Arve Henriksen, Swedish vocalist Stina Nordenstam, who adds marvelously elliptical responses to Sylvianís vocal on the opening 'Wonderful World', and Ryuichi Sakamoto on piano. More information can be found at


Reviews of our releases can be read by clicking here.


Visit the Samadhisound Vimeo channel.


Click here to return to the Samadhisound catalogue.