Steve Jansen "Slope'

2007, sound cd ss012

1: Grip
2: Sleepyard, featuring Tim Elsenburg
3: Cancelled Pieces, featuring Anja Garbarek
4: December Train
5: Sow The Salt, featuring Thomas Feiner
6: Gap Of Cloud
7: Playground Martyrs, featuring David Sylvian
8: A Way Of Disappearing
9: Ballad Of A Deadman, featuring Joan Wasser and David Sylvian
10: Conversation Over
11: Life Moves On
12: Playground Martyrs (Reprise), featuring Nina Kinert

Presenting Steve Jansen's new album, Slope. Tension underlies the crisp rhythms and intricate programming, while a collection of distinctive vocalists draw out the sentiment in his songwriting. As Jansen explains, "with this album I approached composition attempting to avoid chord and song structures and the usual familiar building blocks. instead I wanted to piece together unrelated sounds, music samples, rhythms and 'events' in an attempt to deviate from my own trappings as a musician."

The album features guest contributions from Tim Elsenburg, Thomas Feiner, Anja Garbarek, Nina Kinert, David Sylvian, Theo Travis and Joan Wasser (Joan As Policewoman). Presented as ever in a beautiful digipak with design by Chris Bigg.

For further information on Slope, please visit the album microsite:

Release archive

The release on this page is no longer available from Samadhisound.


Reviews of our releases can be read by clicking here.


Click here to return to the Samadhisound release archive.